Friday, May 24, 2024

IPL 2024 Points Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap: SRH’s Massive Win Makes Playoff Race Tough For CSK. Here’s How


Openers Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma smoked half-centuries as Sunrisers Hyderabad crushed Lucknow Super Giants by 10 wickets on Wednesday to boost their play-off hopes in the IPL. Chasing a modest 166 for victory, Head, who smashed 89, and fellow left-hander Abhishek, who hit 75, tore into the opposition attack to romp home with 10.2 overs to spare at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium. SRH’s win knocked former champions Mumbai Indians out of the tournament. The win also imapacted Chennai Super Kings as the side slipped a position in the points table with SRH replacing them at the third spot.

SRH moved to the third spot with 14 points from 12 matches, while CSK, who are now at the fourth spot have 12 points from 11 matches. Rest of the points table remained unchanged.

Here is the updated IPL 2024 Points Table –

Virat Kohli continues to hold the Orange Cap with 542 runs from 11 matches while Jasprit Bumrah has the Purple Cap with 18 wickets from 12 matches.

Talking about the SRH vs LSG match on Wednesday, Australia’s Head attacked with a flurry of fours and sixes as he reached his fifty in 16 balls and went past 500 runs this season.

Head is now third in the batting chart behind Virat Kohli (542) and Ruturaj Gaikwad (541) with his fourth half-century — he also has a ton — in this edition.

Abhishek joined the charge as he got to his fifty in 19 balls after the pair took Hyderabad to 107 in the first six overs of powerplay, when only two fielders are allowed outside the inner circle.

Hyderabad, who won the IPL in 2016 under David Warner, registered their seventh win in 12 matches to hand a perfect gift to birthday boy and captain Pat Cummins, who turned 31 on Wednesday.

Abhishek hit the winning six as Hyderabad moved to third in the 10-team table with 14 points. Lucknow stay sixth after the bruising loss.

Top four teams will make the play-offs with the final on May 26 in Chennai.

Seam bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar set up victory with impressive bowling figures of 2-12 in his four overs to restrict Lucknow to 165-4 after they elected to bat first.

Lucknow lost regular wickets until Nicholas Pooran, who hit 48, and Ayush Badoni, who smashed 55, put on an unbeaten stand of 99 in 52 balls to boost the team total.

But the score proved too little against a team which posted record totals of 277 and 287 in this high-scoring edition of the T20 tournament.

(With AFP Inputs)

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Read more

Local News